Let Not the World Burn

Buddhist responses to the climate crisis

A 90 minute zoom discussion

The first webinar is concluded and you can watch it on Youtube below. Prof Leslie Hughes gave a masterful 30 minute presentation on the science, which we urge anyone to watch, as it gives a thorough overview of the state of climate science. Prof Sugathapala shared with us the situation in Sri Lanka, where despite having contributed almost nothing to the problem, the effects and impacts of climate chaos will be devastating. Bhante Sujato showed that not just climate change, but anthropogenic climate change, was spoken of by the Buddha, who also recomended a specific way to take action.

Aim our is to make this a semi-regular series with an event roughly every three months. Check back for news of the next seminar.

Prof Lesley Hughes: setting the global scene

A Distinguished Professor of Biology whose research focuses on the impacts of climate change on species and ecosystems. She is a former Lead Author in the IPCC’s 4th and 5th Assessment Report, and current Councillor of the Climate Council.

Thusitha Sugathapala: Impact of Climate Change on Sri Lanka

Former head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at University of Moratuwa, he has served as the Director General of Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority, and is a member of the National Expert Committee on Climate Change Mitigation.

Bhante Sujato: what the Buddha said about a changing climate

A leading translator of early Buddhist texts, he has worked with scientists from the CSIRO on climate resilience.

Moderator: Ishnika Lokuge

A year 10 Student at Wenona School, North Sydney, Ishnika is passionate about the impact of climate change and the significance of looking after our environment. She contributes to her school’s Environment Club, works to rejuvenate the bush, and recently attended her first Schools Strike for Climate Change.

Thursday, 13 July 2023

Location Local Time Time Zone
Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) 8:00:00 pm AEST
Colombo (Sri Lanka) 3:30:00 pm IST
Jakarta (Indonesia – Jakarta Special Capital Region) 5:00:00 pm WIB
Corresponding UTC (GMT) 10:00:00